ROUSSEL PRIZE 1978

Because of the constantly growing importance of therapeutic steroids, the late Professor J. C. ROUSSEL, director of the French Group which is well-known for its pharmaceutical activities, established an international Prize in 1969, intended to stimulate new research in this field.

This prize is awarded once every two years to a chemist or biochemist whose work has been assessed by an international Jury made up of eminent scientists.

The first Roussel Prize was awarded to Professor W. S. JOHNSON, in 1970, for his work on biogenetic-type non-enzymic synthesis of steroids; the second Prize, in 1972, to Professor J. W. CORNFORTH for his work on the biosynthesis of cholesterol; the third, in 1974, to Professor E. KODICEK and H. F. Deluca for their work on the metabolites and the mechanism of the action of cholecalciferol; and the fourth Prize, in 1976, to Professors E. E. BAULIEU and E. V. JENSEN for their work on hormone receptors.

The next Roussel Prize, amounting to a total of \$10,000, will be awarded in June 1978, and is limited to work in the field of steroids and analogous compounds published before 31 December 1977.

The Jury for 1978 will consist of:

President: Sir Derek Barton

Members: Professors E. Diczfalusy, A. Eschenmoser, W. S. Johnson,

F. LYNEN, G. OURISSON, I. V. TORGOV.

Secretary: J. MATHIEU

The candidates for the Roussel Prize may be from any country and work in any type of laboratory. They must be proposed by an eminent scientific personality and have two seconders.

The nominations should be sent to the President or Secretary of the Jury before 1 January 1978. The Secretary will provide any further information.

Professor J. Mathieu Centre des Recherches Roussel Uclaf 93230 Romainville FRANCE